

Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program 2025 Notice to Employees

BACKGROUND:

To improve air quality and reduce vehicle emissions in heavily traveled areas, the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) administers a mandatory vehicle emissions inspection program known as the Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program (VEIP).

Arizona law (A.R.S. §49-542) requires vehicle emission inspection and testing for:

- Most vehicles registered in the Area A vehicle emissions control area of greater metro Phoenix (including parts of Maricopa County and parts of Pinal County and Yavapai County as defined by <u>A.R.S. §49-541</u>) and/or
- Most vehicles registered outside of Area A used to commute to a work site located within Area A.

For a map of the Area A vehicle emissions control area boundary and a link to the legal description, please visit <u>azdeq.gov/emaps</u>.

IF YOU LIVE AND WORK IN ARIZONA:

- Any vehicle you own and operate in Arizona must be registered in Arizona and display a valid Arizona license plate (some exceptions apply). For more information, please visit <u>azdot.gov/mvd or contact</u> the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) Motor Vehicle Division at 602-255-0072.
- Any vehicle you use to drive to an Area A worksite is required to go through vehicle emissions testing. This applies even if you live outside of Area A.
- For employees who live outside of Area A, a proof of compliance form will be issued to you by the emissions testing facility at the time of emissions testing. Testing results, which are also sent electronically to ADOT, are needed to register. After you submit your registration request by mail or online, you will receive a registration tag for your license plate. For vehicles that are registered out-of-state (students/part-time employees) and that are parked on federal, state, or city parking properties, you will need to obtain an air quality compliance sticker for your driver's window from ADOT. For more information, please visit myazzar.com or call the ADEQ VEIP Hotline at 1-877-692-9227 (1-877-myAZcar).
- In addition to any other criminal penalty provided by law, a person who does not comply with this law is subject to a civil penalty of \$100 for a first violation and \$300 for a second violation.

