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2022 Travel Reduction Survey coming soon 

Complete the survey by the deadline to be entered into a gift card drawing 

The State and other large employers are required by law to survey annually all of 

their employees working in Maricopa County at least three days per week for no 

less than six months per year. Interns, temporary workers and contractors should 

not take the survey. 

Your participation in this survey is critical! This survey information has provided 

us the data to secure transit subsidies, provide input on bus routes, and make sug-

gestions for the light rail system. 

Later this month, you will be receiving the official email survey link to complete 

your survey. Simply click on the link, provide the necessary information about 

your daily commute, and submit. It's easy and will take only 5-7 minutes to com-

plete. Each agency must obtain as close to 100% participation as possible. 

Telecommuting: you must fill out the survey if you are telecommuting or 

working in virtual office status. Please fill out the survey according to the 

schedule you are currently working. Question #3 asks about your commute. If you 

are telecommuting one or more days per week, choose the corresponding number 

of days you are currently telecommuting. If you are only working remotely and not 

driving into the office, use the number of miles you previously drove to the agency 

work site when asked for your commute miles in question #6 and estimated time 

from your home to the agency work site, even if you are NOT currently driving. If 

you were hired as a virtual worker, please select the main agency headquarters ad-

dress. Items #8 – #12 on the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) page explains 

how and why telecommuters must complete the survey.  

Gift card drawing: New this year! Capitol Rideshare has added an incentive 

for employees to complete the survey. All employees who complete the survey by 

March 11 will be opted into a drawing for a $25 gift card with a winner chosen at 

random. If you do not want to be entered into the survey, please be sure to click the 

button to opt out.  

Questions? 

If you have any questions, please visit the Frequently Asked Questions page in the 

survey section of CapitolRideshare.az.gov. Also, there is a short tutorial video that 

explains how to navigate the survey instrument. 

https://capitolrideshare.az.gov/travel-reduction-survey/travel-reduction-survey-faqs
http://capitolrideshare.az.gov/
https://capitolrideshare.az.gov/sites/default/files/media/TravelReductionSurveyDemo_2-11-2020_HS.m4v
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April is Valley Bike Month 

Have fun, make a difference, and enter to win 

great prizes! 

Valley Metro is celebrating Valley Bike Month 

with challenges and contest prizes for participants 

(a ShareTheRide account is required to participate): 

Pledge to Ride 

Visit ShareTheRide.com and take the Valley Bike 

Month pledge from March 1 – 31 for a chance to 

win a $50 California Pizza Kitchen gift card. 

Valley Bike Month Challenge 

Compete with cyclists valley-wide to log the most 

bike trips and be entered to win a limited edition 

Valley Bike Month bicycle bell. Also up for grabs 

are Arizona Restaurant and Costco gift cards! Visit 

ShareTheRide.com and go to Challenges.  

Prizes Galore! 

Valley Metro has contests for bicyclists all month 

long, special contests for Challenge participants, 

and of course contests for “regular” alternative 

mode users as well. Visit ShareTheRide.com and 

click on PROGRAMS, then Rewards for more info. 

 Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program  

2022 Notice to Employees  

BACKGROUND:  

To improve air quality and reduce vehicle emissions in 

heavily traveled areas, the Arizona Department of Envi-

ronmental Quality (ADEQ) administers a mandatory vehi-

cle emissions inspection program known as the Vehicle 

Emissions Inspection Program (VEIP).  

Arizona law (A.R.S. §49-542) requires vehicle emission 

inspection and testing for:  

 Most vehicles registered in the Area A vehicle emis-

sions control area of greater metro Phoenix (including 

parts of Maricopa County and parts of Pinal County 

and Yavapai County as defined by A.R.S. §49-541) 

and/or  

 Most vehicles registered outside of Area A used to 

commute to a work site located within Area A.  

For a map of the Area A vehicle emissions control area 

boundary and a link to the legal description, please visit 

the ADEQ website, gisweb.azdeq.gov/arcgis/veiareas.  

IF YOU LIVE AND WORK IN ARIZONA:  

 Any vehicle you own and operate in Arizona must be 

registered in Arizona and display a valid Arizona li-

cense plate (some exceptions apply). For more infor-

mation, please visit azdot.gov/mvd or contact the Ari-

zona Department of Transportation (ADOT) Motor Ve-

hicle Division at 602-255-0072.  

 Any vehicle you use to drive to an Area A worksite is 

required to go through vehicle emissions testing. This 

applies even if you live outside of Area A.  

 For employees who live outside of Area A, a proof of 

compliance form will be issued to you by the emis-

sions testing facility at the time of emissions testing. 

Testing results, which are also sent electronically to 

ADOT, are needed for registration. After you submit 

your registration request, by mail or online, you will 

receive a registration tag for your license plate. For 

vehicles that are registered out-of-state (students/part-

time employees) and that are parked on federal, state, 

or city parking properties, you will need to obtain an air 

quality compliance sticker for your driver’s window 

from ADOT. For more information, please call the AD-

EQ VEIP Hotline at 1-877-692-9227 (1-877-myAZcar) 

or visit their website at myazcar.com.  

 In addition to any other criminal penalty provided by 

law, a person who does not comply with this law is 

subject to a civil penalty of $100 for a first violation 

and $300 for a second violation.  

Reminder: employees must carpool at 

least three times/week to participate in 

the Capitol Rideshare carpool program  

Capitol Rideshare’s carpool program rules state 

that employees who carpool at least three 

times per week are eligible for a Capitol 

Rideshare carpool parking permit. If you are 

working remotely and are no longer car-

pooling, please contact Capitol Rideshare 

staff via email at RideshareHelp@azdoa.gov 

to cancel your parking permit. 

https://www.valleymetro.org/commute-solutions/valley-bike-month
https://sharetheride.com/
https://azdeq.gov/emaps
https://azdot.gov/motor-vehicles
http://myazcar.com/
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Congratulations to our RideAmigos contest winners! 

Capitol Rideshare launched the RideAmigos monthly contests in June 2020 and employees are logging trips, 

earning points and redeeming the points to enter contests to win prizes! Remember, remote work days count 

as alternate modes—so log those remote work days! Below are lists of Commuter  Club members who 

entered the contests and were randomly selected as winners via the RideAmigos gamification module.   

Members of Commuter Club are eligible  to join the fun and start redeeming their points for the chance to win 

a gift card! Here’s how it works: 

1. Log your alternate modes and collect your points. 

2. Once you have at least 100 points, scroll to the bottom of your dashboard to your My Rewards section. 

Click on RideAmigos Sign Up and Trip Logging Points. 

3. Under your points total, click on Show Details and Inventory. 

4. The dashboard expands to show you the awards available to you and the points required to enter the 

drawing. 

5. Click on the drawing you wish to enter. If you have the points available, you can redeem points for up to 

three entries. Example: If you have a points balance of 300 and each entry is 100 points, you can redeem 

the balance of your points for three drawing entries. 

Start redeeming your points today—and if you haven’t started logging your trips, get started! You can log 

previous trips up to 30 days! If you need help learning how to log trips, please visit the FAQs linked posted 

on Capitol Rideshare’s RideAmigos information page. 

December winners  Agency 

Nidhi Krishna AHCCCS 

Grissel Johnson Dept. of Agriculture 

Christina Weber Dept. of Revenue 

James Everett Dept. of Health Services 

Susanne Shurtz Dept. of Public Safety 

Sandy Porth Attorney General's Office 

LaKeisha Lewis Dept. of Administration 

Shelby Williams AZ Schools for the Deaf & Blind 

Tammy Seilheimer Auditor General's Office 

Debera Massahos ADOT 

Jakob Trierweiler Court of Appeals 

Wayne Miller Dept. of Environmental Quality 

Gary Glatting Dept. of Administration 

Frances Savedra Dept. of Economic Security 

Melanie Lam  Dept. of Economic Security 

Andrew Hagler Dept. of Revenue 

Erin McDowell Dept. of Economic Security 

Deborah Kimmick Industrial Commission 

Erica Johnson AHCCCS 

Mandi Bradley Dept. of Revenue 

January winners  Agency 

Danyelle Harris ADOT 

Zachary Harris Governor's Office 

Christina Weber Dept. of Revenue 

Denella Kirkland Dept. of Education 

Susanne Shurtz Dept. of Public Safety 

Katie DiTullio Dept. of Education 

Sharon Kagen AZ Schools for the Deaf & Blind 

Lydia Lalio Dept. of Education 

Carolinne Shaffer AHCCCS 

Gary Glatting Dept. of Administration 

Jakob Trierweiler Court of Appeals 

Marta Raiford ADOT 

Lucinda Feeley Dept. of Health Services 

Erica Johnson AHCCCS 

Debera Massahos ADOT 

Rand Rosenbaum Supreme Court 

Shelby Williams AZ Schools for the Deaf & Blind 

Barbara Sullinger ADOT 

Erica Johnson AHCCCS 

Linda Hogan ADOT 

https://capitolrideshare.az.gov/commuter-club
https://capitolrideshare.az.gov/rideamigos


Capitol Rideshare is administered by the Arizona Department of Administra-

tion Human Resources Division; it is funded by the Federal Highway Ad-

ministration through the Maricopa Association of Governments and by the 

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality.  

Editor: Mary Marshall 

Reduce commute costs with Platinum Pass 

Valley Metro Local, Express, and RAPID buses 

and light rail can get you to work without the has-

sle of driving in traffic! The state offers employ-

ees a subsidized Platinum Pass; there is no fee 

to apply for the pass. The current subsidy rate is 

50 percent of the fare, up to half the cost of a 

monthly pass. Just complete the application and 

send it to your agency’s human resources unit. 

Please visit the Capitol Rideshare’s website to 

learn more about this program.  

Do your part to fight transit fraud!  

Employees are responsible for all charges in-

curred on their Platinum Pass until they notify 

their human resources department, in writing, 

that the pass is lost or stolen. To prevent fraud, 

please do the following:  

 Keep your pass secured.  

 Check your paystub for charges, even when 

you have not used your pass.  

 NEVER loan your pass to anyone else. 

 Report your pass missing immediately, in 

writing, to your human resources liaison. 

 If replacing, follow up with HR to ensure your 

missing pass has been replaced and mailed. 

Valley Metro Design a Transit Wrap contest 

Do you know or have a family member that is a 

high school student and is a talented artist? En-

courage them to design and submit an entry 

for Valley Metro’s Design a Transit Wrap contest. 

The first-place winner will have their work dis-

played on a bus and light rail train for a year and 

will also receive $750. The deadline to enter 

is February 11.  

Reminders & Notes Coordinator’s Corner  

Annual Travel Reduction Survey  

training materials are online 

The Annual Travel Reduction Survey is right 

around the corner! Capitol Rideshare staff recently 

emailed the training presentation and link to the 

training video for implementing the 2022 Travel 

Reduction Survey. The presentation includes the 

2022 schedule, so please be sure to read through 

the slide deck even if you are a veteran coordina-

tor. Group one consists of the Department of Eco-

nomic Security, the Department of Corrections, the 

Department of Juvenile Corrections and the Arizo-

na Schools for the Deaf and Blind; these employ-

ees will receive their survey link via email on Feb-

ruary 16. Group two includes all other agencies; 

these employees will receive their survey link on 

February 28. Staff will send daily reports to ap-

prise you of your agency’s progress toward meet-

ing the state’s 80 percent response rate goal.    

Emergency Ride Home: Sign up now 

for the Commuter Club! 

Employees who use an alternate mode at least twice per 

week—carpool, transit, telework, compressed work 

week, electric vehicle, biking or walking—are eligible 

for free membership in Commuter Club. The primary 

benefit of Commuter Club is to offer employees who 

use alternate modes of transportation an emergency ride 

home (ERH), up to twice per fiscal year, for unexpected 

emergencies. Examples of qualifying emergencies in-

clude medical emergency, family emergency or the 

commuter’s carpool driver unexpectedly left early. 

Please note: you must have a Lyft account to self-

dispatch the ERH; Capitol Rideshare provides a 

voucher credit to pay for up to $50 for an emergency 

ride (this will not cover a driver tip). For more infor-

mation, visit the Commuter Club page online.   

https://capitolrideshare.az.gov/sites/default/files/media/PlatinumPassTransitBrochure2020_online.pdf
https://capitolrideshare.az.gov/share-ride/platinum-pass-transit
https://t.e2ma.net/click/p8m5ee/h67x6y/9zts1x
https://capitolrideshare.az.gov/sites/default/files/media/TravelReductionSurveyTraining_2022.mp4
https://capitolrideshare.az.gov/sites/default/files/media/2022_TRC_Survey_Training.pdf
https://capitolrideshare.az.gov/commuter-club

